Tag Archive: ‘landmark’
Bridge of Lochay
The Bridge of Lochay is a single high stone arched bridge carrying the A827 across the River Lochay to the North of Killin. It is assumed that the bridge was built in the late 18th century. The road across the bridge is narrow and single carriageway.
Breadalbane Park is the large park area in the centre of the village which is home to many local village events such as Killin Highland Games and the Killin Agricultural Show. The large park was leased on a 999 year lease by the Earl of Breadalbane in 1947 to be used for the benefit of the people of Killin.
The round house in Breadalbane Park was given in memory of Captain Ronald S Stroyan of Boreland who died 17th November 1957.
This late 19th century Celtic cross memorial was erected by the Gaelic Society of Perth. It is dedicated to the Reverend James Stewart who was the first translator of the New Testament into Scottish Gaelic and resided at the nearby house, now Invertay House.
The Killin Millennium Cairn was dedicated on 1st January 2001 and contains a time capsule of community records. The Cairn is around 1.8m high and has four carved plaques. It was built from local stone donated by villagers in the surrounding areas.
This beautifully conserved longhouse and byre in Glen Lochay, near Killin, offers a unique insight into rural life in 19th-century Scotland. Practically unchanged since it was last lived in, this historic cruck-framed cottage still has many of its original features, including a ‘hingin’ lum’ and box beds.
The McLaren Hall is the second biggest Hall in Perthshire, and is the centrepiece of many of the social events held in this picturesque part of Breadalbane. It was built in 1934 as part of a bequest from Mr Archibald McLaren, to the people of Killin and District. Mr McLaren farmed at Dall farm Ardeonaig.